K’Taqmkuk Mi’kmaw Cultural Historic Museum Newfoundland
CLOSED TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC FOR THE WINTER SEASON.
Access to our permanent galleries.
Child (3–12): $2.00
Tiny Tot (0–2): Free
Taxes are not included.
Admission fee supports the museum’s scientific and educational endeavours.
183 Main Street, St. George’s, NL A0N 1B0
St. George’s is an area rich with Mi’kmaq history. Mi’kmaq occupation of the area known as “Seal Rocks” has been documented as early as the 1700’s.
Seal Rocks was the largest and principle Mi’kmaq settlement on the West Coast of Newfoundland. It was established in 1804 as permanent settlement for the Mi’kmaq of Newfoundland and for the resettlement of the Mi’kmaq from Nova Scotia. Mi’kmaq oral tradition maintains occupation of the area is ancient.
To celebrate this rich culture a local historic old building has been renovated to house a cultural museum and interpretation center. This museum is the first and only official Mi’kmaw cultural historic museum for the island of Newfoundland. The significance of the tremendous contribution of our Mi’kmaq ancestors to Bay St. George will be recognized, celebrated and given its proper place.
The K’Taqmkuk Mi’kmaw Cultural Historic Museum is now what used to be the courthouse, pictured to the right, the outside of the building has been restored back to its’ former grandeur and the inside houses the K’taqmkuk Mi’kmaq Museum. It is located at Main Street, St. George’s, NL. The courthouse was built in 1903 and is one of three of its kind in the province of NL. The building has seen many changes over the years with it being a courthouse, jail, police station, post office, housed a medical clinic, public health and it was then turned over to the St. George’s Indian Band for the sum of one dollar! The St. George’s Indian Band Council has worked to turn this beautiful site into a cultural experience for all to see. The courthouse, which it is still called by the townspeople, is a large part of the rich history for the St. George’s area.
Come in and see the wonderful exhibits we have on display.
Three students have been hired this summer to conduct tours of the K’Taqmkuk Mi’kmaw Museum and manage the Gift Shop, that is located in the Museum. Come in and see the wonderful exhibits we have on display.
Get your photo taken in front of a reproduction of a Trapper’s Lodge beside Matty Mitchell, world renowned Mi’kmaw Guide, or in front of the scale model replica of a 5 meter long ocean going canoe that was built by the Mi’kmaq People of Newfoundland in 1879!
The Gift Shop features a wide variety of Mi’kmaq Crafts all locally made.